Worship Review 3.8.15

Kick-off Sunday at New Song Inland Hills was amazing! It was a blast seeing all those kids and their parents having a great time with the bounce house extravaganza. Atticus Mac was wiped out when we got home.


A God Who Saves (Sovereign Grace Music) & Send Me Out (Fee) – Our opening song (Call to Worship) and closing song (Benediction) are musically related in a huge way. We opened our service declaring our situation, how we’re weak, despairing, rebels and what God has done for us. At the end of service we reprised it before singing “Send Me Out” because all of our sending is based first-and-foremost in our redemption. “Send me out” opens with these lines:

Jesus, lord of our salvation, savior of my soul, send me out to the world to make you known.

When we know the depths of our brokenness and the heights of God’s restoration of us we’ll  want to go out into the world. Our beginning and our end set the arc of our service this week: We’re in need of saving, we’ve been saved, we’ll go to the world.

Behold Our God (Sovereign Grace Music) – To know how far we’ve fallen we need to see how high our God is. “Behold Our God” asks us questions reminiscent of the ones found in the book of Job starting in chapter 38.

“Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation?
    Tell me, if you understand.
Who marked off its dimensions? Surely you know!
    Who stretched a measuring line across it?
On what were its footings set,
    or who laid its cornerstone—
while the morning stars sang together
    and all the angels shouted for joy?” 
Job 38.4-5 NIV

The song eventually asks us who has bore the weight of sin? Us with all of our trying and effort? No, only Jesus could and only Jesus did.

I love how Job ends after realizing who God is:

“You said, ‘Listen now, and I will speak;
    I will question you,
    and you shall answer me.’
My ears had heard of you
    but now my eyes have seen you.
Therefore I despise myself
    and repent in dust and ashes.”

Job 42.4-6

Forever Reign (Hillsong) – “You are good and there’s nothing good in me…” WHEW! What a way to start a song. The idea here was to assume the same posture as Job.

You’ll Come (Hillsong) – “Waiting” is a passive verb. It assumes that we’re unable on our own to do anything for ourselves. From the psalm we read it is God who lifts us and puts us on a rock. That rock is Himself. We’re confident and secure because our security is placed firmly on the character and person of God. And it’s the Spirit revealing Jesus Christ who broke all of our chains and healed us of our inability, weakness, desperation, and rebellion.

I waited patiently for the Lord;
    he turned to me and heard my cry.
He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
    out of the mud and mire;
he set my feet on a rock
    and gave me a firm place to stand.
He put a new song in my mouth,
    a hymn of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear the Lord
    and put their trust in him.
Blessed is the one
    who trusts in the Lord,
who does not look to the proud,
    to those who turn aside to false gods.
Many, Lord my God,
    are the wonders you have done,
    the things you planned for us.
None can compare with you;
    were I to speak and tell of your deeds,
    they would be too many to declare.

Psalm 40.1-5


I encourage you all to purchase these songs and support the artists and ministries who created them. But, check out this Spotify playlist to listen immediately.


Also, if you want to read the previous week’s worship reviews go here:
Worship Review 3.8.15

One thought on “Worship Review 3.8.15

Comments are closed.