Top Ten List On Forgiveness

I’m always really grateful when I get to share from God’s word with the church. Here’s some resources to help you remember the weight of your sin.


1) We covered a lot of scriptures that I would encourage you to pray through, meditate on, and just spend lots of time with:

Matthew 18.23-35
Isaiah 6.1-8
Romans 7.15
Romans 8.33-39
Psalm 103

I quickly reference these verses:

Luke 12.3
John 1.1-14
Psalm 139
Psalm 51

2) When writing this weekend’s sermon I had a playlist I played on repeat. I think these songs will help you realize the weight of your need for forgiveness and how much God has forgiven you. If you like these songs I encourage you to purchase them:

spotify:user:1237511954:playlist:0pcLF6RA2gqQMdcwIccnv2

3) Here’s a fun retelling of the scripture we studied. Try not smiling.

4) THIS SONG!

Forgiven Forever (Acoustic Mix) – Glenn Packiam

5) Everybody should buy this book: A Gospel Primer for Christians

344med

6) I quote a Washting Post Op-Ed by author Eve Fairbanks. The whole article is worth reading. She writes about how often we use mistakes as a stepping stone, or just a part of the process. Which in the end just romaticizes failure.

I tried out for my 8th grade basketball team and I didn’t make the cut. What’s funny is that afterwards somebody told me how Micheal Jordan also was cut from his basketball team in high school or something. As if to say to me, “Tommy! Don’t worry about the fact that you didn’t practice enough, you tried out on a whim, and you have zero skill in basketball… You’re going to be Michael Jordan someday.”  Sometimes we don’t treat failure for what it is, we treat it as a stepping stone. I’ve not added anything to what Eve Fairbanks has said and you should read her article it’s amazing.

Here you go: Why failure can be a good thing, even when we don’t learn anything from our mistakes.

7) For those of you who like anecdotal, clickbait listicles (Like I do!) – this one’s for you:  17 Things We Know About Forgiveness

8) In my sermon I talked about our “passive” and “active” inclinations to break things. I’m a fool though. There’s nothing new under the sun, and everything that’s ever been said has been said better before. I like the idea of our passive sin being: “things left undone…” The Common Book of Prayer says it this way:

ALMIGHTY and most merciful Father; We have erred, and strayed from thy ways like lost sheep. We have follwed too much the devices and desires of our own hearts. We have offended against thy holy laws. We have left undone those things which we ought to have done [our passive action]; And we have done those things which we ought not to have done [our active action]; And there is no health in us. But thou O Lord have mercy upon us, miserable offenders Spare thou those, O God, who confess their faults. Restore thou those who are penitent; According to thy promises declared unto mankind in Christ Jesus our Lord. And grant, O most merciful Father, for his sake; That we may hereafter live a godly, righteous, and sober life, To the glory of thy holy Name. Amen.

9) I have to come clean about something: I am a thief!

!!! PARENTAL WARNING !!!

I take the idea of the “Human Propensity to Break Stuff” from English author, Francis Spufford’s amazing and difficult book Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense

Before you go out and buy ten copies of the book I must give a couple of MAJOR MAJOR MAJOR CAUTIONS: First, Spufford doesn’t actually use the phrase “The Human Propensity to Break Stuff,” he uses the phrase “The Human Propensity to **** Things Up.” I chose to edit the word because it’s the worst of the worst of the worst words on a list of vile words I would never say in front of Grandma Pearl or any human. Secondly, there’s some wonky theology that Spufford and I don’t see eye to eye on at all. Here’s a fair enough critique: Francis Spufford’s Brilliant and Frustrating “Unapologetic”

I read it in early 2014 and it’s still resonating with me a year later. Specifically, when he talks about sin, or, as he puts it the “HPtFtU,” is particularly impactful and he writes a biography of Jesus that left me in tears when I first read it.

Again not a book to approach lightly.

10) I’m not sure either, Hobbes.

doyoubelieveinthedevil

Top Ten List On Forgiveness