I Shook It Clean in an Obvious Apocalypse (A Poem)

I Shook It Clean in an Obvious Apocalypse

When I finished my Etch A Sketch masterpiece
a landscape of black and white
the Devil whispered, It sure is pretty, but is it art?
So, I shook it clean in an obvious apocalypse and
gone were the trees, the sun, the stars,
the ground is scorched, the ground is bare
the record’s broken but the song still swings.

And talking about it seems a bit clinical
on the backside of a miracle but
if a benevolent God drew the world just right and
Jesus loves all the little children of the world then
there’s nothing left to condemn. But,
I’m still scared right now will end
and we’ll all forget.

15520576_ffe4dbfc0c_o.jpg
etch. May 24, 2005. whitneybee. Some Rights Reserved.
I Shook It Clean in an Obvious Apocalypse (A Poem)

One thought on “I Shook It Clean in an Obvious Apocalypse (A Poem)

Comments are closed.